My University Experience

Whenever I look back in retrospect, the four years of college seemed to have passed in a flurry. But that is now. Talking of admission. I hail from Jalna. A quiet but happening city. Found my way into MIT after high school. It was a new experience (as it is, for everybody). The initial days seemed to be Full of Beginnings and no Ends. Unknown faces, names, personalities all around. But that was for a while. The differences existed (they still do) and seemed irreconcilable. However, when life throws melons, you’ve got to make use of them. I was able to outgrow my inward personality to an extent. It seemed tough. Beginnings are always tough. Too many changes to adapt to at once and too many responsibilities to shoulder. But one gets used to them, nonetheless. It is not an either-or-choice. It’s more of do-or-die. The first year was supposed to be fun. Being carefree, ruining test tubes in the Chemistry lab and crying my eyes out to finish Engineering Graphics assignments. Was fun. Did not feel like college for a while. Was almost like school. We read the same subjects, did Math and had plenty of time to engage in co-curricular activities. Still a somewhat feeling of comfort. Ah what pleasure it is to reminisce old times. And the sense of security that comes with it. And then came the second year. After enjoying a resplendent two-month semester break, bootstrapping oneself and getting back to the drill seemed like an ordeal. Digital Logic, Data Structures and the others. Felt overwhelmingly displaced from the homely environment I had grown used to. But, as always, being a creature of habit, I worked my way upwards and out of it. That is what adulting taught me. Resilience. In the face of all adversity. That year was all about being panicky before exams, viva-voces and lab exams. All of those days seem golden now. The grass is indeed greener on the other side :) Halfway into our fourth semester, we heard of a strange flu-like sickness spreading in parts of the world. It was just beginning to make its wings in India. Finally took off a full flight when all of us had come home for Holi. The college administration sent out word saying the vacation would be extended by 15 more days as an attempt to contain contamination. And then, life was never the same again :”) The entire planet went into a war against an unseeable entity. We all were united in our struggle. Friends, family came in handy. In some way, it brought me closer to the people I valued. The period taught me the importance of freedom, fresh air and of course, sanitizer. Time flew. Semesters came, they passed. Wrote online “exams”, sailed through them. And soon I was in my final year. And had something to look forward to. A life beyond. Of earning. Making an impact. The last year in college seemed to pass even faster. Or maybe it seemed so because I was looking ahead too eagerly. With the reduction in the infection rate, everyone got back on campus briefly to commemorate the last few weeks of sharing a common identity of being “batchmates”. Suddenly, one fine day I woke up to realize college was over. There would be no more projects to submit, assignments to turn-in, sleep-deprived professors to face and friends to fill in with gossips of the day. The time spent here, I’d say, wasn’t particularly happy; but strangely empowering. MIT ADT University would be the place I will forever thank for making me come face-to-face with my flaws and keeping me grounded. Perhaps this college made me realize where my passion truly lies, and that, I can, surprisingly, do something about it.

Time’s winged chariot who? Forever and hands-down, the 4 years I spent at MIT. So, adieu My beauty and My Beast. Till we meet again :)

Regards, Yuvraj Bansal

Saw a tweet by Kunal Kushwaha to share the University Experience and here I am.